sugarbabies….

im a simple girl…dont laugh..its true…

ok ok .. a lot of my hoodies and t shirts are cashmere…but…you know… simple cashmere…

sooo…when Abdul (the cutest driver in DC… in a simple black town car) .. picked us up last night…. we went across the river to one of my fave little hole in the wall cafe’s for a bite…

IOTA

they have a new chef….so i was a teeny bit apprehensive.. BUT… i am happy to report..

that the new guy… is doing great….maybe even better than the last fella…

the salmon with ginger something … was great..a little sweet..maybe a honey glaze???

and the Burger… (boring i know …but i was feeling carnivorous..) was one of the best ive had of late…

the music was free.. open mike night… sometimes you get what you pay for…but…

generally speaking they have great music..

billy joe shaver, james mcmurtry, nora jones, etc etc have all graced the stage….

when i excused myself to “powder my nose” … i started chatting with the waitress…she asked how every thing was…and i must have sounded like more of a foodie than i am …because the chef introduced himself…

turns out …he used to live in my town in NC … sooo …when i asked if he could whip up my hometown fave… shrimp and grits….

a big ole grin crossed his face…

he told me … he would put grits in the kitchen…not on the menu, mind you

and next time …

he promised…

grinning slyly… to reallly impress me…

xoxo

