sugarbabies…

i wasnt expected in the office this morning…(or maybe i was??)

but…my hair looked good…and dont ask me why but i was wide awake and kinda excited about the cold crisp morning air… sooooo …. i pulled on an extra layer and headed to the office…early…

i walked up to the break room to start some coffee….runnning my hands through my hair and half stretching my shoulders….the lights were still out sooo i didnt notice a tiny well dressed old man….

“como te llama” ?

i was startled by his question…and jumped a bit…

“im sorry i didnt mean to frighten you” he said softly….

there are plenty of spanish speakers in my office but folks dont generally approach me with spanish first..(maybe its the hair?? maybe..)

i laughed and told him no problem ….and asked if  i could get him some coffee…

he persisted now in perfect english ….

“what is your name?”

i told him.. and offered my hand…

he repeated it slowly….

“are you sure?” he asked taking my hand

uuummmm…. yes im sure…

“is it short for anything a nickname???”…

ummmm….yes…as a matter of fact it is…. i told him the name my mama calls me….

it was shortened by my third grade teacher …i offered in explanation…

waiting for him to let go of my hand…

“so your name…its not virginia???”

“ummm no but thats a really pretty name …one of my best friends is named virginia”…

he let go of my hand…and smiled a sad smile…

“Virginia was my wife for 58 years…she passed away..

when i saw you…you looked sooo much like her…that for a min…welll i guess i miss her…oh im sorry to bother you”…. he trailed off

i poured his coffee….

kissed his cheek and told him…

“come sit in my office while you wait…tell me about virginia…”

Thats when he told me…

“i dont have an appointment…i just had a feeling i should be here”

i looked at him….over my glasses …raised my eyebrows…

Oh.. well in that case… we can take our time…

xoxo

“Oh cruel moon you shine so bright
And act like everythings all right
You shine as if there’s nothing wrong
You shine on down like she’s not gone”

-buddy miller

I kinda figure my last words will be something along the lines of…” wow my hair is gonna look great in that light”

-suicide_blond


