sugarbabies…

today is the day that i have to give up my fake grandma…

damn…in gonna miss her…

….her calls remind me to take my vitamins and to eat a veggie or two … i mean she doesn’t say those things…but her voice…it reminds me of my ninny…(i miss you ninny)…

…fake grandma says things like…

Hey Jackie…i hope youre feeling better …if you are we can meet at mcdonalds for lunch! ok talk to you soon…i love you….

or..

Hey Jackie… wow youre not gonna believe it but i beat doris at cribbage and she was sooo mad..hehehe…oooh lordy she was steaming… and then kaye told her her tuna sald was a little dry! i wish you coulda seen her face… ok i ‘ll call you later i gotta take frankie to his dr.s appt. now i love you…

yeah… i know.. im not jackie… and my chatty fake grandma has the “wrong number” but her voice is so cute and sweet…even when she is gossiping shamelessly about doris…and i melt when she says i love you with the same lilting texas inflection as my ninny… sooo for purely selfish reasons i have never called fake grandma to tell her that jackie hasnt returned her calls because jackie hasnt gotten them… i have… and ive saved them… but today… well today the news for jackie wasnt good…and my usually sunny fake grandmas message was tinged with fear and sorrow… and well… she tried to compensate at the end of the message by perking up to say…

hes not in pain…yet…

sooo as soon as time change makes it appropriate… i’m gonna call fake grandma…

and maybe while i wait…..ill say little prayer for her too…

xoxo

